Australia Day Address

January 26 is a time to celebrate and reflect on our national spirit, and the Australia Day Address serves to focus our attention on what that means to all of us. Since 1997 the Address has drawn on distinguished members from within the community to express their unique perspective on our nation’s identity and the diversity of our society.

Each year the speaker is encouraged to share their experiences and reflect upon our history and our future, securing the Address as one of the most important Australia Day initiatives.

Eminent speakers from past years include Ben Roberts-Smith VC MG, Her Excellency Professor Marie Bashir AC CVO, Sir Michael Parkinson CBE, Ita Buttrose AO OBE, Associate Professor Charlie Teo AM and Kurt Fearnely OAM.

2017 speaker

Esteemed physicist Professor Michelle Simmons 2017One of Australia’s leading scientists, Professor Michelle Simmons, delivered this year’s Australia Day Address at the Sydney Conservatorium of Music on 24 January 2017. 

Professor Simmons is an esteemed physicist specialising in quantum physics. She is an Australian Research Council Laureate Fellow and Director of the Centre of Excellence for Quantum Computation and Communication Technology at UNSW. She has received numerous awards and accolades for her achievements, including the Australian Academy of Science’s Pawsey (2006) and Lyle (2015) Medals, the US Foresight Institute’s Feynman Prize (2015) and was recently named the 2017 L’ORÉAL-UNESCO Asia-Pacific Laureate in the Physical Sciences.

Read full bio and watch the Address

Past speakers

Watch or read Australia Day Addresses by speakers from past years:

Top of page