CS0835 Environmental Citizen banner 1140 x 200 Banner

NSW Citizen of the Year Awards

The Australia Day Council of NSW provides local councils with certificates for the award recipients of:

  • Citizen of the Year
  • Young Citizen of the Year
  • Sportsperson of the Year
  • Australia Day Award
  • Environmental Citizen of the Year Award

Each council has their own award guidelines and nomination process. For more information on nominating your local Citizen of the Year, contact your local Council

Return and Earn logoEnvironmental Citizen of the Year Awards

The Environmental Citizen of the Year Awards recognise individuals and organisations for championing litter reduction and environmental initiatives in their local communities.

Nominees may be recognised for work such as:

  • preserving the environment
  • using the Return and Earn scheme to fundraise for a meaningful cause
  • fostering partnerships that achieve litter reduction and recycling outcomes.

The environmental award recipient from your local area can go in the running to be named the overall state winner – a platform to further showcase their contribution to the environment.

Learn about the 2020 nominees and state winner

Australian Honours

Honours help define, encourage and reinforce national aspirations, ideals and standards by identifying role models. 

Under the Australian Honours system, Order of Australia appointments – which recognise outstanding achievement and service by members of our community – are announced on Australia Day and the Queen’s Birthday annually.

Honours are given to recognise, celebrate and say thank you to those who:

  • make a difference
  • achieve their best
  • serve others.

To view the Australian Honours List and Order of Australia Award recipients, visit the It's An Honour website.

Australian of the Year

Each year our nation celebrates the achievement and contribution of eminent Australians through the Australian of the Year Awards. 

Australians of the Year inspire us through their achievements and challenge us to make our own contribution to creating a better Australia.

To see the 2020 national finalists, visit the Australian of the Year website. 

Tour of Honour

Since 2010, NSW has supported a ‘Tour of Honour’ for NSW or national recipients of the Australian of the Year award. The tour brings recipients of the nation’s most respected honour to school students and community members around NSW, and provides an opportunity to promote the Australian of the Year Awards program.

The 2019 Tour of Honour took NSW recipients Kurt Fearnley (NSW Australian of the Year), Heather Lee (Senior) and Sophie Smith (Local Hero) to the regional NSW town of Maitland. During the Hunter region leg, the group visited Bolwarra Public School, Maitland High School, Opal nursing home and Maitland PCYC.

The 2017 Tour of Honour took NSW recipients Deng Adut (NSW Australian of the Year), Dr John Knight AM (Senior), Arthur Alla (Young) and Josephine Peter (Local Hero) to Broken Hill. A videographer travelled with the team to capture the experience.

The 2016 Tour of Honour took NSW recipients Elizabeth Broderick (NSW Australian of the Year), Professor Gordian Fulde (Senior), Melissa Abu-Gazaleh (Young) and Dr Catherine Keenan (Local Hero) to the North Coast of NSW for three days. A videographer travelled with the team to capture the experience.

Presenting Partners

Major Sponsors